The problem lies in YOU. 

​70 years of Independence it’s been, but often I wonder how far we’re successful in gaining Independence……

Scared we’re to step out of our houses, 

Ignorance is our answer to the abuses. 

The whistles on the streets make my heart beat faster, 

The shadows chasing me force me to feel I’m no more a fighter. 

My body is like a showpiece for them, 

Their stares are all what I’m waiting to come.

The way I dress, I deserve to fall. 

The society says, I deserve it all. 

Walking along the streets is my mistake,

Stepping out of my house is my mistake, 

Dressing the way I want to is my mistake, 

I shouldn’t do what I want to all for your sake. 

It’s time to face the harsh reality, 

It’s all our actions that have lead to the rise of inhumanity. 

It’s time for us to become familiar with the difference between right and wrong 

It’s time for us to abandon ourselves from following the path of hypocrisy. 

It’s time to be the change, 

Doesn’t matter if it’s not in your range. 

For years, you were on the wrong side, 

But today let me make you clear about the right side. 

Don’t teach your daughters how to dress, 

Tell your sons they’re a mess. 

Don’t tell her not to go out, 

Tell him to backout. 

Because that’s the solution to this problem, 

Let the girls blossom. 

8 thoughts on “The problem lies in YOU. 

  1. No one could’ve said it better.
    There was a campaign, here in Egypt, that was named “teach your boys”, and it was about teaching boys that respecting women is what makes them real men. Of course it was quickly shut down, as anything else that’s seen as foreign from our society’s rules and traditions.
    Your words reminded me of it, You’re doing a great job. keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment